EDFL / EFL  Premierships

Seniors:           1963, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1973, 1976, 1985, 1987, 1992, 1999, 2000
Reserves:         1968, 1992, 1993, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2008
U/18 Colts:       1987, 1989, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006
U 17's:             2012
U/16’s:             1975, 1976, 1982, 1987, 2005
U/15’s:             1999, 2002, 2003, 2004
U/14’s:             1982, 2003
U/13’s:             1978, 1983, 2002
U/12’s:             1984, 1986, 1993
U/11’s:             1982, 1983, 2012
U/10’s:             1977, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1991

Club History:

The East Burwood Football Club is a community-based club fostering the game of Australian Rules football.  The Clubs home ground is the East Burwood Reserve, which is located between Blackburn & Springvale Roads on Burwood Highway, East Burwood.  Melways Reference  62 B7.

The Club was formed in 1910 and in 1911 began playing in the Box Hill Reporter District Football Association.  In those days East Burwood was an extremely rural area of mainly fruit and flower growers who also produced an abundance of footballers.  As all clubs do, our club has seen so many families names like Fankhauser, Tainton, Mullens, help build the family tradition on which the club is still founded today.  Indeed the senior Best & Fairest recipient is now awarded the Colin Tainton Medal. You will find a road named after this family across the road from the ground.

The family values and succession on which EBFC was founded have helped make our club one of the most respected metropolitan clubs in Australia.  East Burwood has been a highly successful club winning premierships in almost every decade since its inception.  The first premiership came in 1929 and was followed by triumphs in 1930 in the Scoresby District Football Association, 1932 and 1933 in the Federal League.  During the war years 1939-1945, only a limited season was played and no individual awards or premierships were given.

The next premiership won was as Champions in 1954 (undefeated all season) in the Eastern Suburban Fooball League and again in 1960.  East Burwood then joined the Eastern Districts Football League, where it has remained a member to this day and it was a decade to remember, with five premierships 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967 and 1968.  From there, premierships were won in 1973, 1976, 1985, 1987 and 1992.

In season 1993, the club opened its upstairs Social Room & new changerooms facility along with a new ground at the south end of the complex.  The League changed it’s name in 1997 from EDFL to the Eastern Football League – EFL.  1999 saw us win the premiership under the guidance of club stalwart Alan Richardson and in 2000 created history winning the premership in all three grades, seniors, reserves and colts at Waverley Park under lights in the first EFL night Grand Final.

EBFC who has also taken on the name of the RAMS, has now won 18 senior premierships with 12 being in the EDFL or now known as the EFL.  In the last half of last century, our club has won a premiership in every decade.  This is an outstanding record and one of which we can all be duly proud.

The club has also made an impact at AFL level with many of our players over the years being selected to play in the U’18 TAC Competition with the Eastern Rangers and Oakleigh Chargers.

The club has also provided the AFL with players such as:-

       - Trent Hotton, Carlton, 61 games from 2000 - 2003.

Former junior players:-

       - Adam White, who played 44 games for Carlton between 1998-2001

2002 National Draft - Brad Fisher to Carlton, received the AFL Rising Star nomination in season 2003 and Blake Grima to North Melbourne.

       - Andrew Carrazzo was put on the Rookie List with Geelong in 2002 and is now currently playing in the seniors at Carlton.
       - Josh Gibson, who first played with North Melbourne is now currently playing at Hawthorn.
       - Robbie Gray, is currently playing with Port Power, Adelaide.

The East Burwood Junior Football Club, field teams from Under 9’s through to Under 17’s with games being played on a Sunday.

Currently East Burwood has one former Coaches of the club, Alan Richardson as Coach of the St Kilda Football Club at AFL level.  The club has also been fortunate in securing ex VFL/AFL players in the past – Phil Pritchard, Kevin Meddings, Barry Price, Gary Bryant, Ross Henshaw, Andy Lukas, Ross Growcott, Trent Hotton, Rod Grinter, Damian Houlihan, Steven Sziller, Paul Broderick, Doug Barwick, Matthew Rogers & David Bourke.

East Burwood Players Drafted to the AFL:

       - 1994 Adam White, Carlton 44 games
       - 1997 Brett Rose, Sydney Swans
       - 1999 Trent Hotton, Collingwood 17 games, Carlton 61 games
       - 2002 Brad Fisher, Carlton AFL National Rising Star nomination, Round 12 2003
       - 2002 Blake Grima, North Melbourne, Debut Round 4, 2004
       - 2002 Andrew Carrazzo, Carlton Debut round 21, 2004
       - 2006 Robbie Gray, Port Adelaide, with their 4th Pick
       - 2006 Josh Gibson, North Melbourne

East Burwood Players to play VFL/AFL prior to the introduction of the AFL Draft: 

       - Alan Richardson, Collingwood 114 games, 1986-1996
       - Adam Slater, Richmond 3 games, 1993-1995
       - Greg Miller, Richmond/Sth Melbourne 52 games, 1970's
       - Ken Phillips, South Melbourne 60 games
       - Bradley Ross, Footscray 1 game
       - Graeme Jacobs, Melbourne 36 games, South Melbourne 57 games
If you would like a comprehensive history of our great club, it can found in the "History of the East Burwood Football Club" Book which can be purchased at the Club.

Games Record Holder

Colin Tainton, 436 senior games – EBFC

513 total – EDFL
Copyright Oz Promotions Plus 2010. All Rights Reserved.
Premierships - Seniors

1929, 1930, 1932, 1954, 1960
East Burwood
Games Records
Click Here
East Burwood FC
Click Here